Soon, you'll see a new folder in your Drive called Google Photos. If you are a Google+ user you will now be able to manage all the photos and videos in your Google+ Photos right in your Drive. You can view and manage your photos and videos in both Google+ and Google Drive. Photos that you can see in both Google+ and Drive only count once towards your storage limit. As a Google for Education user you have unlimited storage so the storage limit would only apply if you have a separate GMail account.. @gmail.com.
Why have photos in both locations? In Google+, you can create albums, edit your photos, create Auto Awesome photos and movies, and share with people you care about. If you delete photos or videos from Google Drive, they will also be deleted from Google+. If you delete photos or videos from Google+, they will also be deleted from Google Drive.
You can control this feature via Drive Settings > General > “Automatically put your Google Photos into a folder in My Drive.”
More info available under Tech Help.